top of page
  • Writer's pictureJudith May Tamayo

The Proust Questionaire

Updated: Mar 10, 2019



The Proust Questionnaire has its origins in a parlor game popularized (though not devised) by Marcel Proust, the French essayist and novelist, who believed that, in answering these questions, an individual reveals his or her true nature. Here is the basic Proust Questionnaire. __1.__What is your idea of perfect happiness? Going on a trip with my family and doing activities like skydiving or bungee jumping.

__2.__What is your greatest fear? Having regret about the decisions in my life right before I die. __3.__What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? My habit of being lazy. __4.__What is the trait you most deplore in others? Judgment. __5.__Which living person do you most admire? Gary Vaynerchuk __6.__What is your greatest extravagance? A limited edition hoodie I bought myself in Las Vegas. __7.__What is your current state of mind? I am ready to start my summer break already. __8.__What do you consider the most overrated virtue? Having and giving out trust to others. __9.__On what occasion do you lie? I sometimes pretend like I'm sick so that I won't have to go to practice after school. __10.__What do you most dislike about your appearance? My love handles. __11.__Which living person do you most despise? I don't quite "despise" anyone because I don't believe that I have the right to judge someone and determine if I like them or not when I don't know their whole story. And even if I knew their whole story, I still don't have the right to dictate whether a person is good or bad. Just because people occasionally do bad things doesn't mean that they're bad people. I can't just judge someone based on one of their bad decisions because people alternate from being good and bad.

__12.__What is the quality you most like in a man? Honestly. __13.__What is the quality you most like in a woman? The ability to not care about unnecessary drama. __14.__Which words or phrases do you most overuse? “like” __15.__What or who is the greatest love of your life? Super Man (Henry Cavill) __16.__When and where were you happiest? At a Bruno Mars Concert a few months ago. __17.__Which talent would you most like to have? The ability to play the piano well. __18.__If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? Stop procrastinating. __19.__What do you consider your greatest achievement? Realizing what I wanted out of my life and how to get it. __20.__If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be? I would come back as Kim Kardashian’s daughter, Chicago. __21.__Where would you most like to live? New Zealand __22.__What is your most treasured possession? The ring on my figure which was given to my by my grandmother. __23.__What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery? Looking back at your life from your deathbed and regretting your decisions, hoping that you achieved more, or did what you actually wanted to in life. __24.__What is your favorite occupation? Working with animals. __25.__What is your most marked characteristic? I can make a joke about almost anything in life. __26.__What do you most value in your friends? Loyalty. __27.__Who are your favorite writers? Ernest Cline __28.__Who is your hero of fiction? Super Man ( Henry Cavill) __29.__Which historical figure do you most identify with? Rothko __30.__Who are your heroes in real life? My mom, grandmas, grandpas, and aunty Ruby

__31.__What are your favorite names? Mateo, Isea __32.__What is it that you most dislike? A negative environment. __33.__What is your greatest regret? Fighting with my cousin and not talking to that side of my family for 3 years just because I was still hurt. __34.__How would you like to die? With my family, children, and grandchildren surrounding me while I fall into a deep sleep. __35.__What is your motto?

If it won’t matter in 5 years, then don’t worry about it for more than 5 minutes.


Reflection:

The questions I struggled with the most were what was my idea of perfect happiness, and who was the person that I most despised. I'm not too sure that would keep me happy infinitely, but I do know that when my family is happy, then I am happy. But I also know that you need money in order to travel the world and do some fun things in life. So without money, would I truly be happy? And in order to obtain my happiness, do I need money? Does that make me a materialistic person? I'm not too sure, so that's why I struggled answering that question. Anyhow, I couldn't think of a person that I most despised in the world, because I didn't think that that was my nature to hate someone. So for that question I needed to think about who I was and if I actually was capable of deep down hating someone.


The answers I will probably change in 5 years are for the questions: What is your greatest achievement, and What is your greatest extravagance? In 5 years, my financial circumstances will change, hopefully and most-likely for the better, so I'm hoping by the time in 5 years, I will be able to purchase more extravagant things, and the things that I will achieve in the next years will be my greatest achievements that will get me my money.


The answer that surprised me the most was to the question asking who I despised most in this world. Prior to this questionnaire, I didn't actually acknowledge that I didn't hate anyone in this world. It's just that hate is so common, and usually most people at least despise someone. But I'm just glad that I haven't fallen into that trap of negativity.


The questions that I could easily answer were: who is your hero of fiction, and what is your motto? I've just found superman (Henry Cavill) to be one of the most handsome men on earth and his super powers amaze me, so that's why he was automatically my answer for my hero of fiction. Moreover, I could answer the motto question pretty easily because it is a statement that I try to live by everyday.


Number 27 asked: Who are your favorite writers? I said Ernest Cline. I chose him because he wrote the novel Ready Player One, and that is my favorite book of all time. I actually loved it so much that I read it in a day. There was just so much futuristic thoughts and innovations in the novel that compelled me to imagine a world like it and how technology created in the book could benefit us today. I just think that Ernest Cline is a great creator and innovator being that he was able to think about all the genius ideas and topics in his novel.


4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page